ISPD Presidents

Current President (2020-2022)

Lyn Chitty, PhD, MRCOG

London, UK



Dr. Chitty is in the unique position of being the only Professor of Genetics and Fetal Medicine in the UK, and was appointed to this chair at the Institute of Child Health, University College London in 2009. She is also a Consultant in the Fetal Medicine Unit at University College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. She has published extensively on prenatal diagnosis, as well as the ultrasound screening of fetal abnormalities, specifically fetal skeletal abnormalities, and was responsible for the creation of the fetal size standards in use throughout the UK and beyond. Dr. Chitty was a member of the National Screening Committee on Routine Fetal Anomaly Scanning for a number of years and was appointed as the Clinical Director of the NIHR Clinical Research Network: North Thames. She is the Editor in Chief of ISPD's official journal, Prenatal Diagnosis.

Past Presidents

2018-2020 - Louise E. Wilkins-Haug, MD, PhD
2016-2018 - Ignatia B. Van den Veyver, MD
2014-2016 - Lucas Otaño, MD, PhD
2012-2014 - Jan M. M. van Lith, MD, PhD
2010-2012 - Howard S. Cuckle, DPhil
2006-2010 - Diana W. Bianchi, MD
2002-2006 - Charles H. Rodeck, DSc
1998-2002 - Malcolm A. Ferguson-Smith, MD, FR
1994-1998 - Joe Leigh Simpson, MD, FACOG, FACMG